Yesterday somebody told me you just died

Yesterday somebody told me you just died

He then was full of surprise 

That upon hearing the news

I didn’t break down and cry

He asked me, why, why, why

Don’t you love her anymore?

I looked at him and smiled that smile of yore

Then I uttered the following words 

When she first left me

I cried my heart out day and night

For over thirty long years

But in one fine morning when the sun was bright

Stopped the flow of tears

For I sadly realized

She didn’t deserve this crazy love of mine

She was richer and brighter than me

But her heart wasn’t really that fine


Wissai
January 22, 2016

Postcriptum:

Somebody asked if Laura died for real or I wrote the poem out of poetic creativity. Here was what I replied to the inquiry:

She died in my heart, on the street, and by the sea. She died everywhere. You wouldn’t know if you really love the person or not unless she died and you would never see her ever again nor would you want to.


I have known a lot of women, but Laura was one of the very few I did love, but she didn’t really know the depths of my love. I wanted to be good at English, even to surpass her, all because of her. Then I journeyed to French, Spanish, and other languages because of her. I read and want to be financially OK because of her.

Nearly two years ago, I told a woman I love her more than Laura if such a thing is possible. I didn’t know if she believed me, but I have clung to a belief that she does love me despite her telling me time and time again that I don’t deserve her. I have not met a woman like her. Ever. She drives home the notion of Classiness. My life has been a classic love story.


Many humans lived and went to the grave without actually knowing what Love was. 

Wissai

January 22, 2021

About wissai

A wannabe writer who is interested in literature, politics, history, and philosophy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment