Life, Longevity, and Legacy

Life, Longevity, and Legacy

I have long been conscious that I came into this world as a human. I belong to a species allegedly most intelligent on this planet. Human is  perhaps the only self-conflicting species that I know of. I don’t know of any other species that exhibit several self-conflicting traits as humans do: self-preservation and self-destruction, love and hate, altruism and self-interest. I know I am not the only person who is aware of the self-conflicting  traits of the human species. 

In some humans there exist several wonderful traits that sharply mark humans different from and “better” than other species and even among humans themselves such as: language (both vocal and symbolic—written and mathematical), arts appreciation and creation, morals, and thirst for meaning of life and knowledge. Humans are not equal in abilities and morals and knowledge. Funny enough, many cowards and delusional human animals don’t know or refuse to know where they are in the hierarchy. They all have Dunning-Kruger effect. Not me. Now I know exactly who, what, and where I am at all times. I used to be ignorant of who, what, and where I was in the grand scheme of things until I reached 60 when I underwent an efflorescence of cognition. 

All organisms follow the biological imperatives of reproduction, but only humans have the yearnings for “the will to power” à la Nietzsche, exercise  self-assertions, and want to leave a memorable legacy in terms of deeds. However only a few are good enough that their efforts are indeed contributory to the enjoyment, thinking, development and advancement of the species itself and sometimes even the environment. Most of us would try, but come up short. Healthy, honest, intelligent, informed talented humans recognize their true worth and that of others. They don’t suffer from delusions. They leave valuable legacy for us to learn and grow as human beings. The following is one such small legacy. I admire and respect Daniel Dennett. I think he will be remembered and studied. 

Daniel C. Dennett, Widely Read and Fiercely Debated Philosopher, 82, Dies

There is another Daniel. His last name is Tammet. I find him resonant with me though he is much rarer and far more talented. He, of course, is already part of human history. 

Daniel Tammet

I don’t really know if I will leave a positive legacy, but I don’t really care. I just know I am rare and unusual and am vey proud to have lived my life largely on my own terms. 

I do know LND, TTH, U2, and PLT are going to be remembered by the posterity for their literary works. And I do respect and appreciate PPL that he cares about Vietnam enough to spend time and money to call attention of the world of the deleterious effects caused by the numerous dams constructed by the Chinese in the upper reaches of the Mekong River, on the Mekong River Delta. 

I think their descendants and relatives of LND, TTH, U2, PLT, and PPL are proud of having kinsmen like them, just like the descendants of the Dương Brothers of Vân Đình, Hà Đông have been very proud of them. 

Likewise, the descendants of Bùi Văn Phong have been very proud of him. He inspired them to become scholars and people of distinction. When I was young, my mother obliquely spoke of the illustrious Bùi family of Mỏ Cày District of Bến Tre Province, to whom my father was blood-related on his paternal grandmother side. Strangely, my father said nothing about the matter. However, sometime in the early 1990s, my paternal uncle gave us a copy of the genealogical study of Bùi Family which contains a photo of my uncle standing next to Ngô Ðình Nhu in a grand family get-together. Also, one paternal aunt of mine kept telling my sisters that we came from a very good stock of people. Indeed, all my relatives from my father’s side distinguished themselves, most notably Bùi Quang Chiêu and Bùi Hữu Nghĩa. 

A man should be proud of his forefathers and relatives. He himself should conduct himself in a manner that brings pride to his family and kinsmen. That is the very least he should do. A meaningful human life should not be based on its longevity, but on how happy and truly proud of who we are. 

Wissai

May 16, 2024

About wissai

A wannabe writer who is interested in literature, politics, history, and philosophy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment